Kavafy

IMG_0598When walking alone in the great city

I sometimes meet Kavafy,

Well dressed and wise

He tells me ancient truths from the library

You would have failed anywhere in the world

He tells me while smoking papyrus

In the moonlight by the water he is just a tiny shadow

Yes, my friend it is true

But I rather fall in a place with friends and better weather

Here I miss the sun half of the year

Let me choose where I lose my battles

About

I am who I was when I wrote this text but I do not know if I exist now. I am from Scandinavia where the arctic starts and the world ends. The winter is here and is so cold...

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Ambivalence, failure, night, patterns, Poem, Poems, Poetry
2 comments on “Kavafy
  1. One of my heroes. I love your sweet and thoughtful poem.

Leave a Reply

